Emerald Myst Wanderings

More Holy Well and Sacred Flame

Monday, Feb. 03, 2003 - 11:29 pm

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There are a couple of other things I wanted to say about Holy Well and Sacred Flame.

First, a quote from it really loved. During this part:

*****

Then Red Hair spoke as Brigid from 450 I think she said? She is who is buried in Kildare, and definitely Christian. She read a poem that she wrote. It was illuminated, too.

*****

One of the things she said was, "I was not immortal, but I am eternal." Wow! This was an excellent reminder about my own (and everyone's) existence in this universe.

Another part thing that really struck me was the "how do we still have hope" part. It reminded me a lot of a part in The Two Towers that is really powerful for me. (I think I can talk about the Two Towers part more easily than the Brigid part.) It was where Sam makes the speech to Frodo about stories and how they are a part of a great story, and the stories that were your favorites were the ones where everything seemed so horrible and changed, how could anyone go on living as they did before when it was over. And we can because there are good things in the world that make it all worth it. In the course of the film this so moved me because I was actually asking that question of "is this worth it?" All the horrible things happening to these people and their terrible struggles and seeing how much evil was growing, I was starting to wonder how it was all worth it for the good gouys to go on. I was so glad the film answered it for me. And everything Sam said gave me such hope for my own life. I really want to see Two Towers again soon. But anyway, it was great having this lesson repeated for me in Holy Well.

The last thing I wanted to say was that this ritual completely embodied my ideal spiritual ritual. It was not intellectual but still intelligent. It was emotional and moving but not hokey. It was clearly planned but it felt spontaneous.

I so want my own small spiritual community where I can do stuff like this. The book I started reading (see title below) is perfect for me right now. The word "guide" is a little misleading because what it actually is is a detailed description of a particular group called Copper Key: how they formed, what they do, etc., but there is a lot of really useful information in it. Plus for me, having never participated in any pagan stuff, I'm learning a lot.

I know that I can bring a community together, but I don't yet have enough resources. Or courage.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

current music: Robbie Robertson & the Red Road Ensemble - The Native Americans; Chris Whitley - Rocket House

current reading: Creating Circles of Power & Magic: A Woman's Guide to Sacred Community by Caitlin Libera

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

most recent entries:
Crummy - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Can't Decide - Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
Letting Go - Friday, Jun. 04, 2004
Google 5 - Tuesday, May. 18, 2004
Before Tattoo - Wednesday, May. 12, 2004

older entries

random entry

profile

* sign my guestbook*

For a more complete view of my life, read these:

live journal ~ gratitude journal

DiaryLand