Emerald Myst Wanderings

The Mists of Avalon & Spirituality Needs

Saturday, Feb. 01, 2003 - 3:42 pm

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wow today's the Chinese New Year! I have high hopes of this being the beginning of better things for me.

So I've been reading The Mists of Avalon, which I've known for years I was going to have to read eventually, but I was honestly not sure that I'd like it. But a week or so ago there it was at Half Price Books and everything else I looked at sounded disappointing so I went for it. Wow! I'm so glad I did! It's exactly what I need to read right now I think, in fiction. And it's so much better than I was expecting. This is a monster of a book! I could have read 3 or 4 books in the time it's taking me to read this one, and I'm still not done! And the wealth of characters this woman has created are amazing! And the story is so incredibly complicated and so much attention is paid to every detail, it is an astounding accomplishment! And so very engaging and real. I'm so drawn in, I often have thoughts as if I live in the same reality as the characters do.

Which brings me to why I need this now. This book is full of spirituality. There is a lot of close-minded early Christianity, which certainly does nothing for me. But then there is the ritual-heavy Goddess worship. And in reading descriptions of rituals and experiences of the pagans, and how much their spirituality is such an intertwined part of their daily lives, it's made me realize how much I am missing that in my life these days. I'm really craving some heavy spiritual ritual.

So I started thinking that looking into some pagan groups would be a good idea for me right now. I have never really thought that paganism in any of its various forms was what was really right for me in terms of a spiritual practice, but the other things I am drawn to (Unitarian Universalism and Taoism) are so very intellectual and tend to be short on ritual, so I think some pagan stuff could be really right for me right now. I have often lamented that there doesn't seem to be people that share similar beliefs and needs to my own, when it comes to spirituality. I suppose some combination of these three groups would be fairly accurate. Oh and throw in the dynamics (as they've been explained to me) of the Christian group Kevissimo is part of.

Well anyway, I talked to my friend Valkyrie about all this, because she's pagan-ish, and she told me about a couple of groups to look into, and she said she can email me more stuff. And there is an Open Circle tonight at this store called Natural Magic that she does Tarot readings at (and which is co-owned by our next-door neightbor - that's Austin for you). So I'm excited about checking that out tonight. And we have tickets for some kind of performance/ritual thing Sunday night, that's a ritual for Brigid, and I'm excited about that too!

I really hope that somewhere soon I get the tools and resources I need to start my own spirituality group or whatever.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

current music: music to strip to

still reading: The Mists of Avalon

current movies: The Navigator (A Medieval Time Travel Adventure); Serving Sara (one of the worst movies I've ever seen!)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

most recent entries:
Crummy - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Can't Decide - Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
Letting Go - Friday, Jun. 04, 2004
Google 5 - Tuesday, May. 18, 2004
Before Tattoo - Wednesday, May. 12, 2004

older entries

random entry

profile

* sign my guestbook*

For a more complete view of my life, read these:

live journal ~ gratitude journal

DiaryLand