Emerald Myst Wanderings

Favorite Authors and Books

Thursday, Feb. 13, 2003 - 11:02 pm

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

my very favorite author
Philip K. Dick (esp. Valis, Ubik, The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch, A Scanner Darkly, Clans of the Alphane Moon, Flow My Tears the Policeman Said, Galactic Pot-Healer, Martian Time-Slip, Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? )

my very favorite book
The Wood Wife by Terri Windling (If she would write something else instead of just editing anthologies, I might add her to my favorite authors list.)

the book that changed my life
The Highly Sensitive Person by Elaine Aron (I'm going to be lazy and cut and paste a description from amazon:
Do you have a keen imagination and vivid dreams? Is time alone each day as essential to you as food and water? Are you "too shy" or "too sensitive" according to others? Do noise and confusion quickly overwhelm you? If your answers are yes, you may be a Highly Sensitive Person. Most of us feel overstimulated every once in a while, but for the Highly Sensitive Person, it's a way of life. In this groundbreaking book, Dr. Elaine Aron, a psychotherapist, workshop leader and highly sensitive person herself, shows you how to identify this trait in yourself and make the most of it in everyday situations. Drawing on her many years of research and hundreds of interviews, she shows how you can better understand yourself and your trait to create a fuller, richer life.
I am generally skeptical about this sort of thing, but I was intrigued because it sounded like me, so I bought it. I was amazed. Someone who had never met me was telling me all about myself. This book did wonders for my self image. It helped me to see how so many of the things in myself that I have problems with are actually connected to things I really value in myself. I feel like I see myself as a whole person now. I so love this book, I've bought several copies for friends and family. If any of this sounds like you, I highly encourage you to check out the amazon link above, or, even better, go to the Highly Sensitive Person website for more info. And there is a self test you can take to see if you might be Highly Sensitive.)

other favorite authors - fiction
Douglas Coupland (esp. Generation X, Life After God)
Francesca Lia Block (esp. the Weetzie Bat books, Nymph (it's erotica!))
Nick Bantock (esp. The Venetian's Wife)
Ursula LeGuin (all the Earthsea stuff, The Telling)
Italo Calvino (esp. Cosmicomics, t zero)
Roald Dahl (his short stories "for adults")
Neil Gaiman (Neverwhere, American Gods, Stardust)
Donald Barthelme (esp. 40 Stories)

other favorite authors - nonfiction
Natalie Goldberg (fiction also - she has one novel) (esp. The Long Quiet Highway)
Sue Bender (esp. Everyday Sacred, Stretching Lessons)
Anne Lamott (esp. Traveling Mercies, Bird by Bird)
Denise Linn (esp. Sacred Space, Feng Shui for the Soul)
Karen Kingston (Creating Sacred Space with Feng Shui, Clear Your Clutter with Feng Shui)
Terah Kathryn Collins (feng shui books - she's the founder of my feng shui school and one of my teachers!)

favorite plays I read a lot of plays (or used to)
most anything by Christopher Durang (esp. Laughing Wild, 'denitity Crisis, Baby with the Bathwater)
a lot of Tom Stoppard (esp. Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead, The Real Inspector Hound)
Waiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett
Equus by Peter Shaffer
Love Letters by A.R. Gurney
The Dining Room by A.R. Gurney
Lips Together, Teeth Apart by Terrence McNally
Harvey by Mary Chase
favorite Shakespeare: Taming of the Shrew, MacBeth, Hamlet, King Lear, Midsummer Night's Dream, Twelfth Night, As You Like It

favorite poets
Carl Sandburg (esp. Honey and Salt)
Walt Whitman (Leaves of Grass, obviously)
Rumi (check out The Illuminated Rumi - Coleman Barks & Michael Green)
Sylvia Plath

favorite books - fiction I've only read the one book by these people
You Shall Know Our Velocity by Dave Eggers
Photographing Fairies by Steve Szilagyi
This Is Not a Novel by David Markson
Enchanted Night by Steven Millhauser
Tipping the Velvet by Sarah Waters
Imajica by Clive Barker
The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley

favorite books - nonfiction
Material World by Peter Menzel
Women in the Material World by Faith D'Aluisio and Peter Menzel
Manifest Your Destiny by Wayne Dyer
Weird Like Us: My Bohemian America by Ann Powers
Aphrodite's Daughters: Women's Sexual Stories and the Journey of the Soul by Jalaja Bonheim

****

[Whew! That was fun. I'm glad to get all of that recorded. If you (if there is a you) are still reading this, thanks!

Something I realized while writing all this is that I formed a lot of my favorites years ago, but in the last year I've been adding a lot of stuff to those lists. That makes me feel good, like it's a sign of growth and change or something.]

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

most recent entries:
Crummy - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Can't Decide - Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
Letting Go - Friday, Jun. 04, 2004
Google 5 - Tuesday, May. 18, 2004
Before Tattoo - Wednesday, May. 12, 2004

older entries

random entry

profile

* sign my guestbook*

For a more complete view of my life, read these:

live journal ~ gratitude journal

DiaryLand