Emerald Myst Wanderings

Favorite Movies

Thursday, Feb. 13, 2003 - 1:55 am

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

These are not necessarily movies I would list if I were listing "best" movies. These are movies I really really like, but they're not all really really good. And, some movies that I think are really really good aren't necessarily my favorites. Got it?

So... In no real order...

my favorite movies

Holiday (My very favorite movie. Everyone should see this movie. From 1938, starring Cary Grant and Katherine Hepburn. Very modern (even post-modern) theme. Simply delightful and wonderful.)

The Princess Bride (My favorite movie until I saw Holiday a couple years ago. It's a modern classic. If you somehow haven't seen it, you simply must.)

The Apartment

Orlando

My Dinner with Andre

Sabrina (the remake with Julia Ormond, Harrison Ford, Greg Kinnear - I find the original to be overrated)

City of Lost Children

Amelie

Moulin Rouge

Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring & The Two Towers (I am a huge fan of these movies, probably mostly because I was a Tolkien virgin. I knew nothing before the first one except that hobbits have hairy feet (and why did I know that?). So I'm actually held in suspense wondering how it will all end. And don't tell me.)

The Hours

Cast Away

Chocolat

Harvey

Illuminata

Some Like It Hot

Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead

The King of Hearts

Being There

Arizona Dreams

Somewhere in Time

Dangerous Beauty

Zoolander

Splendor

About a Boy

L'Auberge Espagnole

House of Fools

CQ

The Guru

Northfork

Hands on a Hard Body

The Big Bang

Baraka

any movie starring the Marx Brothers (esp. A Night at the Opera, Duck Soup, Animal Crackers, The Cocoanuts)

almost any movie made by Win Wenders (esp. Kings of the Road, Million Dollar Hotel, Wings of Desire, Wrong Move, Until the End of the World (the 5 hour version))

almost any movie made by Hal Hartley (esp. Surviving Desire, Amateur, Trust, Henry Fool)

almost any movie made by Woody Allen (esp. The Purple Rose of Cairo, Hannah and Her Sisters, A Midsummer Night's Sex Comedy)

almost any movie made by Terry Gilliam (esp. The Adventures of Baron Munchausen)

almost any movie made by the Coen Brothers (esp. Barton Fink, Raising Arizona)

****

[Wow, it was really hard for me to not write a blurb for every title, but I'd be here forever writing, and you (if there is a you) would be here forever reading. But I love to talk about movies if anyone wants to know more about something.]

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

most recent entries:
Crummy - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Can't Decide - Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
Letting Go - Friday, Jun. 04, 2004
Google 5 - Tuesday, May. 18, 2004
Before Tattoo - Wednesday, May. 12, 2004

older entries

random entry

profile

* sign my guestbook*

For a more complete view of my life, read these:

live journal ~ gratitude journal

DiaryLand