Emerald Myst Wanderings

Living an Exceptional, Creative, and Free Life

Thursday, Apr. 03, 2003 - 1:49 am

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

After Dharma & Greg, my husband and I caught part of a documentary about Joni Mitchell, and it started us on this great conversation. Whenever I see film of hippie flower children type people being creative and free (not political), I feel really envious. Like I want to live this alternative life and feel free to create and express myself and wear lots of beads. But I then I think to myself, why don't I live that life? There's nothing really holding me back. To some people I'm sure I seem like I do live that kind of life. (For example a woman at my feng shui training said I reminded her of Dharma from Dharma & Greg. Considering how unlike Dharma I am it was very clear to me that she has had very limited experience with "alternative lifestyle" type people.)

Then I realized that I'm sort of craving to live a free flowing crazy outside the normal parameters kind of life, but I also don't know if I'm really made for that. And I don't really know that that's what I want forever, just a taste of it really. We sort of had that by living in the van and traveling around, but I really didn't have as much fun doing that I had hoped. I have realized though that the entire time I lived in L.A. I felt unsettled and struggling, so it seems unsurprising that going from that to an even more unsettling kind of living would have been hard on me.

Anyway, what I really want is to live a life mostly within the usual boundaries, but a life that is still exceptional, and creative and free. I really believe it's possible, but I have to figure out how to get there exactly.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

most recent entries:
Crummy - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Can't Decide - Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
Letting Go - Friday, Jun. 04, 2004
Google 5 - Tuesday, May. 18, 2004
Before Tattoo - Wednesday, May. 12, 2004

older entries

random entry

profile

* sign my guestbook*

For a more complete view of my life, read these:

live journal ~ gratitude journal

DiaryLand