Emerald Myst Wanderings

Gratitude & My Life's Purpose

Monday, Feb. 10, 2003 - 3:48 am

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Well I unintentionally wrote a regular diary entry in my gratitude journal. I feel like reprinting most of it here too, because I think it's really important.

**********

I'm always thankful for the big things: my husband, my family, my friends, that we live in a nice house, that we have a cool art car, that I have food to eat, blah blah blah.

But I want to use this space to focus on the smaller things, the special things that don't happen every day, the things that make up the moments of my life. I feel like noticing those smaller things is like moving forward. Because all of my "big things" are so well taken care of, I feel it's important for me to go beyond them, like it's moving to a higher plane or some kind of emotional evolution or something. I only have so much mind space, and I want to go beyond the basics.

Maybe I'm being naive, or ungrateful, or maybe I'm just asking for trouble by saying these things. But when I start to think about those basic things, it makes me feel guilty for having them when other people don't. And I realized a long time ago that my life's purpose is not to help people with the big things, but with the small things.

As part of my feng shui class I had to come up with a statement of my life's purpose.

~~~~~

My life's purpose is to inspire and facilitate small changes in others that affect some aspect of their lives, consequently affecting other aspects of their lives due to the essential interconnectedness and unity of all things, and to help others on their mystical journey to understanding this interconnection and oneness.

~~~~~

Kind of wordy, I know.

Wow, I feel like I've really lost sight of my purpose lately. It's also the case though that I have needed (and am still in need of) some major rest and self-care. If only I knew what to do to get back on the path. I feel like I'm in the ditch.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

most recent entries:
Crummy - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Can't Decide - Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
Letting Go - Friday, Jun. 04, 2004
Google 5 - Tuesday, May. 18, 2004
Before Tattoo - Wednesday, May. 12, 2004

older entries

random entry

profile

* sign my guestbook*

For a more complete view of my life, read these:

live journal ~ gratitude journal

DiaryLand