Emerald Myst Wanderings

Joseph, Joseph, is it really you?

Saturday, May. 31, 2003 - 10:00 pm

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I already have a project I want to do for Flipside next year. I want to put on a performance of Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat. I so love this show. I was in it twice, in 8th grade and in 10th grade. I know almost the whole show. I went out and finally bought a version of the soundtrack yesterday, and today I bought the DVD of the Donny Osmond version off Amazon.

One of my favorite things from Burning Man 99 was a performance of Jesus Christ Superstar. The people putting it on had revamped it some, and called it DJ Christ Superstar. I'm not really a fan of that show, but it was just so awesome to see this performance at an event. I really really think it'd be great to put on a show like that at Flipside. And I just miss doing shows. I did theatre all through high school and my first year of college. I really haven't done much since then, and I really miss it.

I think if I can get enough other people excited about this idea, then this will have great potential to be a truly awesome experience. I'm hoping that starting on this a year in advance will reduce how much work and stress we'll have to put into it at the end. My only fear is that the long length of time will actually make people's enthusiasm fade. It won't make mine fade, that's for sure. The long anticipation will heighten it, I think.

I figured there are three immediate things that must be addressed before really getting started, and I've taken care of two of them. 1. Who will play the narrator(s). This was easy because I know I can do it. I can also add Audrey and she suggested another woman, Kyra, as well. Haven't talked to Kyra yet, but this is taken care of. 2. Who will play Joseph. Figured that out yesterday: Doryan. He's a singer. He will be perfect. Realizing that he could do it has given me the confidence to actually start minimal planning. 3. The music. Don't have this part figured out yet. I have an idea, I need to talk to a person or two, I'm working on it.

Sorry to go into so much detail about this but I'm really excited about it, and I still feel a little protective of the idea so I'm not quite ready to put it on my live journal. I am happy to say that already Audrey, Doryan, and my husband are excited about this, and that means a lot!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

today's music: Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat soundtrack

today's movie: CQ

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

most recent entries:
Crummy - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Can't Decide - Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
Letting Go - Friday, Jun. 04, 2004
Google 5 - Tuesday, May. 18, 2004
Before Tattoo - Wednesday, May. 12, 2004

older entries

random entry

profile

* sign my guestbook*

For a more complete view of my life, read these:

live journal ~ gratitude journal

DiaryLand