Emerald Myst Wanderings

Lousy, CD's, Knitting, Collage, & Rumi again

Monday, Feb. 17, 2003 - 3:09 am

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Well, I didn't write anything yesterday because I just felt lousy, and I didn't want to write about feeling lousy. Today I feel like I'm great and lousy at the same time, if that makes any sense.

I have begun this project of making special mix CD's for a few friends. I have ten people I am intening to make them for, at least in this round, and so far I have done three. I find it to be really fun! I get to listen to pieces of a bunch of songs I like, some of which I haven't heard in a long time, as I order the songs and stuff. And I really like designing simple little inserts for them. I get to play with fonts and clip art.

Yesterday I did my "artist's date" (that's part of the Artist's Way program - it's supposed to be a weekly fun, creative solo outing that inspires and feeds you). I went to Michael's Arts and Crafts and wandered up and down every aisle. There is so much cool shit in there! I saw so many things that I want to make stuff out of and projects to do. The thing I really got focused on is knitting. I really want to learn how to knit all of a sudden. I like the idea of having something kind of meditative to do, and I'd be creating something at the same time. I used to make those string friendship braclets a lot (I was the primary influence that started this fad among the 6th graders at my middle school in 1987), and I still like to make them sometimes, but they're so small. Knitting is a lot bigger to work with. But they're both just tying knots in a particular way.

I got really desperate last night to create something, and I got inspired by this cool little book a friend of ours in L.A. made for us when we were leaving. Our friend Danger Girl took a small spiral notebook and wrote a little fairy tale-like story in it and illustrated it with collage stuff. And she did it in a very simple and rough way--all the pictures have torn edges--so it's got a really neat look to it. It looks spontaneous even. So I suddenly got inspired to do something similar. I grabbed a magazine and a little spiral bound sketch book I'd barely used, and just started cutting and gluing. Usually when I make collages, I am very particular about placement, and I often lay out most of the images before I start gluing. And I cut things out very precisely. For working on this book I intentionally made myself work differently. I made myself cut things out sloppily, and a lot of the pages are random pictures thrown together.

I love how it's coming out! I worked on it more today too. Every page has words on it, and it's coming out very inspiring, meaningful even. I sort of feel like I'd like to scan some of the pages and put them here, but I also feel sort of weird about doing it. As if I'm forcing my weird artwork on anyone that happens to read this. And this stuff is hardly representative of my artwork, I feel. I mean, I think what I usually do is better than this. This is just play. Hmm. I'll have to think about it.

I wish I had something more beautiful and inspiring to say here. I know, let's have more Rumi. And the appropriate Michael Green illumination.

I have lived on the lip of insanity, wanting to know reasons, knocking on a door.

It opens.

I've been knocking from the inside!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

current music: mix CD's!

current reading: The Twelve Wild Swans by Starhawk and Hilary Valentine

current watching: random Twilight Zone episodes my husband has been renting

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

most recent entries:
Crummy - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Can't Decide - Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
Letting Go - Friday, Jun. 04, 2004
Google 5 - Tuesday, May. 18, 2004
Before Tattoo - Wednesday, May. 12, 2004

older entries

random entry

profile

* sign my guestbook*

For a more complete view of my life, read these:

live journal ~ gratitude journal

DiaryLand