Emerald Myst Wanderings

More Alone Time, Mind Dump/Rest, & Spider Princess

Tuesday, Feb. 18, 2003 - 4:05 am

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Well, I thought that I had exceedingly interesting things to say, but I can't think of any of them now.

I did start learning to knit today though! It's very fun. I've just done a few rows, so I have this weird uneven piece of something. Practice is definitely necessary to be good at this, but so far I'm enjoying it.

My husband is going camping again tomorrow, so YAY! MORE ALONE TIME! I feel like there's so much I want to do while he's gone. Knit, collage in my little book more, send off the mix CD's I've made for people so far, some ritual stuff that's in this book I'm reading (see title below), catch up on email, look through the Sunday Classified want ads, go for a walk with my camera, dance around the living room, make more mix CD's, organize part of the study, laundry, hmm.... That's all I can think of right now. Clearly I can't possibly do all that between tomorrow morning and 6 pm Wednesday. Not that I need to be home alone to do most of that stuff, but most at home stuff is more fun for me when I am alone. I think it's a Highly Sensitive thing. Feeling like I'm being watched and having that affect my behavior.

I feel I should stop writing, because this kind of everyday junk is not what I want to spend a lot of time on. It's been hard the last couple days. I've done so very little. I've wanted to do very little. I somehow am enjoying doing very little, staying in my little house, or running silly errands. It's like it's an important part of what I'm doing. There's a word for it, but I can't think of it. It's like waiting and resting and preparing and refining.

I feel like I'm going through a mind dump. I mean things like writing in my journal and just letting whatever flow out. So this collaging I'm doing is like that too. And things like walking, and Network, and knitting are times when your mind can just rest. I read somewhere recently that for a lot of people showering is the only time they allow themselves to do this. Your conscious self (what I think of as First Self and this book I'm reading calls Talking Self) is preoccupied with the motions of getting clean. But those motions don't take up much brain space, so your mind is able to rest. Thoughts come and go, and, unless you're really stressing or excited about something, you don't tend to focus on much. At the same time, your unconscious and intuition might be really working on stuff because you're not directing your thoughts. It's kind of like dreaming.

Anyway, I feel like I need a lot of that right now. Mind rest. Mostly that, even.

I am really enjoying doing little nice things for people, like making these mix CD's, and for the last three months I've been mailing out birthday cards to people. I mail out one or two a week usually! It's so fun to pick out the card, and write a little note. I love feeling like I'm communicating with some people that I might not contact otherwise. And, I sure love getting stuff in the mail, so I imagine these folks I send cards do too. I put three in the mail today!

Maybe I managed to say something interesting after all.

I leave you with one of my favorite StoryPeople.

Spider Princess

If I was a spider princess, she said, I would spin webs the color of sky & catch drops of sunlight to give to children who watch too much TV & then everyone would remember to come outside to play. If I was a spider princess, she said, things would be different.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

currently reading: The Twelve Wild Swans by Starhawk and Hilary Valentine

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

most recent entries:
Crummy - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Can't Decide - Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
Letting Go - Friday, Jun. 04, 2004
Google 5 - Tuesday, May. 18, 2004
Before Tattoo - Wednesday, May. 12, 2004

older entries

random entry

profile

* sign my guestbook*

For a more complete view of my life, read these:

live journal ~ gratitude journal

DiaryLand