Emerald Myst Wanderings

More Flipside Talk

Friday, May. 30, 2003 - 2:23 am

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Well somehow I got involved in this big discussion on the Austin list about volunteering at Flipside. Basically some people were expressing some ideas that made me fairly angry and no one seemed to be disagreeing so I had to speak up. I guess I'm glad I did still, even though there's a possibility that I hurt someone's feelings. It felt really good to be getting involved. It felt good to speak up for what I believe in. That's the sort of person I want to be. At least within my own community.

But somehow I just feel bad now. A particular idea is still out there that I really don't like (the idea being that guilt is an appropriate way to motivate people to volunteer at Flipside), and I don't know how to address it anymore without it becoming an attack on the person saying it. I also realized that I really don't know how some of what I said is taken because it's so difficult to pick up on someone's tone through email. I'm really not sure exactly what I'm worrying about here. It's unlikely there will be any major consequences from all this. Blergh.

Other than that I am feeling great. Well, no actually there's also that my husband is suddenly expressing how very unhappy he is with the current state of our relationship. (A whole other thing which I have intentionally not gone into here and I'm not planning on starting now.) But really, other than those couple of things, everything is great. I still feel like I'm at Flipside in some ways. I feel very open and brave. It's good. This is part of becoming the person I want to be.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

most recent entries:
Crummy - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Can't Decide - Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
Letting Go - Friday, Jun. 04, 2004
Google 5 - Tuesday, May. 18, 2004
Before Tattoo - Wednesday, May. 12, 2004

older entries

random entry

profile

* sign my guestbook*

For a more complete view of my life, read these:

live journal ~ gratitude journal

DiaryLand