Emerald Myst Wanderings

Sei Still & Listen

Saturday, Apr. 19, 2003 - 12:35 am

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Well my ear still hurts like hell. But we did go to the doctor and I was given a couple things to do, and I've got these eardrops to use to reduce the swelling, and it's started to help some. Every once in a while I can actually hear out of this ear.

I was writing in my journal about various crap going on in my mind right now, and also trying to figure out why this ear thing is happening. I was sort of trying to dialogue with my ear, if that makes any sense. And here is a sentence I wrote down:

My ear said it was angry and my whole body is angry and this is what it had to do to get me to listen.

Ah ha! Since I wouldn't listen to my own body and self about what it needs, it decided to make me listen. So an ear infection is appropriate. As the doctor said, if this kind of swelling was in my finger, I'd just not use that finger, but in my ear it totally affects my equilibrium and everything I might want to do. Basically I can't do much. I can hardly hear the outside world because mostly I hear noises inside my own head. Again, how appropriate. So I must begin to really listen to my own body, my own voice, my own self. And, I need to take it easy and learn how to relax, which this ear thing is also forcing me to do.

The other thing that struck me that I wrote down is "sei still" which I learned in German class is a way to say "be quiet," but it also has a kind of "be still" meaning. So I like that.

Sei still & listen.

I promise, self, to do my best.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

recent reading: Traveling Mercies by Anne Lamott

recent viewing: The Maltese Falcon

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

most recent entries:
Crummy - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Can't Decide - Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
Letting Go - Friday, Jun. 04, 2004
Google 5 - Tuesday, May. 18, 2004
Before Tattoo - Wednesday, May. 12, 2004

older entries

random entry

profile

* sign my guestbook*

For a more complete view of my life, read these:

live journal ~ gratitude journal

DiaryLand