Emerald Myst Wanderings

Wimberley: A Little Bit of Heaven

Saturday, Mar. 08, 2003 - 7:20 pm

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Well today I discovered where I want to live. Wimberley, Texas. It's a very small, very arty town, about an hour from our house. I was just poking around online about the town and it just sounds cooler all the time. It reminds me a great deal of a town we loved outside L.A. called Ojai. We love Ojai so much we got married there. We are really seriously considering buying our land outside Wimberley and making it our town.

Hmm, maybe I've never explained what I'm talking about when I say "buying our land." We have the intention of buying a bunch of land and starting an intentional community where a few friends build homes on it. And we also want to have a lot of community spaces and resources, and we want to grow some of our own food, use solar power, that kind of thing. And we want to do all that outside Austin, and I think we finally know where we want to look when it's time.

And today was just so great. We took my husband's parents out to see some Hill Country, and were originally going to go to Fredericksburg, but decided that was too far, so went to Wimberley instead. I am so glad we did! We had a great time with his parents, and it was a great time in general. We got some good barbeque, so his parents could try Texas barbeque. Then we wandered through all these really cool stores that were mostly selling locally made arts and crafts. Then we went to a little restaurant for beer and chips and salsa, and this restaurant sits up against a creek with a little waterfall and awesome outdoor seating, and it was just beautiful. The whole day was very fulfilling. I am so excited right now!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

most recent entries:
Crummy - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Can't Decide - Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
Letting Go - Friday, Jun. 04, 2004
Google 5 - Tuesday, May. 18, 2004
Before Tattoo - Wednesday, May. 12, 2004

older entries

random entry

profile

* sign my guestbook*

For a more complete view of my life, read these:

live journal ~ gratitude journal

DiaryLand