Emerald Myst Wanderings

Happy Chinese New Year of the Sheep!

Saturday, Jan. 18, 2003 - 2:41 am

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I am training to be a feng shui consultant (what's that? I'll talk about it another time.) and the school I went to, The Western School of Feng Shui, sent out an email recently that amazed me with it's accuracy, even though I have given Chinese Astrology very little thought in the past.

***************

I have the feeling that you are as ready as I am to embrace the peaceful, calm pace of Year of the Sheep. The Year of the Horse's full gallop has been quite a wild ride! I'm ready to slow down for a meandering Sheep walk-about and to just hang out and "graze" for a while.

Both the Horse and the Sheep are related to the Fire element. In 2002, the Horse Ch'i raced in and built a bonfire under all the parts of our lives that needed to change. As of February 1st, 2003, the Sheep Ch'i flocks around the bonfire's warm coals to share perilous tales about last year and to take great pleasure in relaxing after all that activity. In the eternal workings of yin and yang, this change in energies is the epitome of yang becoming yin. It's a time that encourages us to sit back and enjoy the life we so ardently shaped for ourselves in 2002. It's also a perfect time to gather together as kindred spirits for the pure enjoyment of connecting with each other.

The tranquil energy that begins in February, symbolized by the newborn lamb, invites us to open up and easefully receive a deeper, richer connection with our selves, each other, and the five elements.

-Terah Kathryn Collins

***************

Wow! This past year has so crazy for me! I really can't wait to calm down, breathe, really settle into my new town and community, and start truly taking car of myself.

I began the year living in L.A. with my husband. Then we quit our jobs, put all our stuff in storage, and hit the road at the beginning of March. We drove all over the Eastern half of the country and basically lived in the QVan until August when we moved to Austin. Somewhere in there I decided I wanted to do the feng shui thing, and the training took up a lot of energy in the fall. My husband is still looking for a job, and we're still making friends and even unpacking boxes. Whew!

I so look forward to a slow pace this year. My focus for the year is Health. I don't know if I've done so great so far, but I've got high hopes for February!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What I listened to today: jukebox

What I read today: Stardust by Neil Gaiman

What I watched today: Holiday

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

most recent entries:
Crummy - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Can't Decide - Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
Letting Go - Friday, Jun. 04, 2004
Google 5 - Tuesday, May. 18, 2004
Before Tattoo - Wednesday, May. 12, 2004

older entries

random entry

profile

* sign my guestbook*

For a more complete view of my life, read these:

live journal ~ gratitude journal

DiaryLand