Emerald Myst Wanderings

I am worthy

Wednesday, Apr. 30, 2003 - 1:26 pm

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Somewhere in the last couple of days I re-realized how important it is that I find ways to feel my own worth. Oh I remember. I read this in The Artist's Way yesterday: "For a workaholic, work is synonymous with worth...." That so summed up me. I'm not a workaholic in the sense of my career or job. I don't even have a career or a job. But I'm a workaholic when it comes to whatever things are on my current to do list or task list. I talked about all this some here.

So anyway, I know that I have worth and that I am a valuable creature simply because I exist as part of the Universe and if I want to worship the Divine, proper self-care and self-love is a great place to start because I am part of the Divine.

So the questions now is, how do I feel my own worth?

The main thing that occurred to me was feeling more of a connection with Divinity. This is so something I've been saying I need more of anyway. It's funny how much everything is connected. So I need more alone time, more sacred time, more artist's dates, more time in nature. I also need more sitting, breathing, meditating and more moving my body (I try not to use the word exercise), both of which I need more of to improve my health as well. Again, it's all connected. So I'm going to start doing more of all these things. I have time, I just have to use it well, NOT obsessing over my task list.

I also need to be around people that make me feel good about myself. I think I've already gotten better at this, but it helps to remind myself. Especially people like wonderful Peg-Anne. She says such nice things about me that make me feel so good about myself. And what's most interesting about that interaction to me is that while we do know each other in person, all of our interaction since January has been through reading each other's diaries and occasional emails and guestbook signings. So what this means te me is that she's really responding to more of my inner self, my reflective thoughtful sometimes whiny self. NOT my accomplishing things working hard self. There's a valuable lesson in there for me. Thank you so much Kitten for all your support!

So now I'm off to walk!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

recent music: Chris Whitley

recent reading: Utne

recent movie watching: Some Like It Hot

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

most recent entries:
Crummy - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Can't Decide - Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
Letting Go - Friday, Jun. 04, 2004
Google 5 - Tuesday, May. 18, 2004
Before Tattoo - Wednesday, May. 12, 2004

older entries

random entry

profile

* sign my guestbook*

For a more complete view of my life, read these:

live journal ~ gratitude journal

DiaryLand