Emerald Myst Wanderings

Mists of Avalon - the Movie

Monday, Feb. 10, 2003 - 2:35 am

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

We rented The Mists of Avalon movie today. I, of course, just finished reading it a week or so ago. I was really curious about the movie. I loved what was in the book so much I really wanted to see it on the screen. Unfortunately I am incredibly disappointed.

If I had never read the book. I would probably have thought this was a good King Arthur movie. But, having read the book, I am surprised that they chose to use the same name as the book because it is so different.

To some extent I expect this when a movie is made from a book. I mean, the book is (almost) always better, right? I guess though I have seen The Hours so recently and I thought that was a fantastic adaptation, so somehow that gave me higher hopes for this.

Anyway, I don't want to go on and on about it. There were just some specific things that bothered me the most. I felt that the women were less powerful in the movie. Their power was taken away from them in subtle ways, but it was there. I felt the paganism and magic was poorly represented. I guess a lot of things felt toned down for a more mainstream audience. Which is fine really, just don't act like this is the book. And of course the entire second half of the book was completely different. Things that were enormously significant in the book were totally left out of the movie. And throughout the movie, things were changed in subtle ways that made it more like the standard King Arthur stories. Ok, really, I'm stopping now.

I just feel sort of sad that it seems that people are not ready for the kind of story that is in the book. So I guess I'd say it's a fine movie, but has almost nothing to do with the book, and the book is so much more meaningful than the movie.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

recent reading: Jump Up by Luisah Teish

recent movies: The Mists of Avalon

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

most recent entries:
Crummy - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Can't Decide - Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
Letting Go - Friday, Jun. 04, 2004
Google 5 - Tuesday, May. 18, 2004
Before Tattoo - Wednesday, May. 12, 2004

older entries

random entry

profile

* sign my guestbook*

For a more complete view of my life, read these:

live journal ~ gratitude journal

DiaryLand