Emerald Myst Wanderings

Celebrate Every Day

Saturday, Feb. 08, 2003 - 4:12 pm

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So I've been getting into reading books about rituals and stuff, and I discovered a book I forgot I own and I have never read: Jump Up by Luisah Teish. (And Luisah Teish is the original Designated Cool Person!) Here's the subtitle of the book: Good Times throughout the Seasons with Celebrations from Around the World. This book is so neat!

[Side note: The song I'm listening to just said: "I thought I was by myself but I cannnot kill the angel in the house." Wow!]

Anyway, this book (so far anyway) describes different holiday-type traditions, especially African ones (she is a priestess of Oshun, after all) which I am really not familiar with, but she brings them together through their similarities, including Western traditions, and even has suggestions for your own rituals/celebrations. It's also full of stories from her own experiences and world travels, and boy, can she tell a great story.

Something else I discovered at the very back of the book is a calendar of holidays from around the world. There is a holiday listed for almost every day of the year! This is so exciting to me because about a year ago I decided I wanted to create my own holiday calendar, so that there was something specific to celebrate every day. I mean, we can find things to celebrate every day, but if every day is a holiday, WOW! And not every day would have full-on holiday celebrations, decorations, food, etc. Some holidays can be celebrated very simply.

The main difficulty with doing this calendar of course is that many, many holidays don't fall on a specific date each year. Instead it has something to do with the lunar calendar, or the 4th Thursday or whatever. So doing the calendar year after year AND ensuring there is a holiday for each day can get very complicated. And obviously there's a great deal of research to be done here. I can start with the majoy holidays of every religious tradition, but that still leaves a lot of empty days! Thankfully, I'm finding things like this book, and she recommends other books as well. I hope I'm up to the challenge!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

current listening: The Story - The Angel in the House

current reading: The Highly Sensitive Person in Love by Elaine Aron; Jump Up by Luisah Teish

current watching: Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

most recent entries:
Crummy - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Can't Decide - Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
Letting Go - Friday, Jun. 04, 2004
Google 5 - Tuesday, May. 18, 2004
Before Tattoo - Wednesday, May. 12, 2004

older entries

random entry

profile

* sign my guestbook*

For a more complete view of my life, read these:

live journal ~ gratitude journal

DiaryLand