Emerald Myst Wanderings

Cirque du Soleil & Appreciating Art

Saturday, May. 17, 2003 - 1:42 am

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Oh. My. God.

What a show.

I am a big fan of Cirque du Soleil because I really like what they are doing. I have never seen anything like their shows, and it's just such an experience. They are bringing this really alternative kind of performance to the masses (there would be even more masses if the tickets weren't so dang expensive).

I'm not going to attempt to explain what the show is like, because I certainly couldn't do it justice. If you've seen one, you know what it's like. If you haven't, it's impossible to really understand it any other way than to see it. I do want to write about some of my specific moments during the show though.

Something they do that I find very interesting is that with certain groups of performers in the show, the costumes are designed so that it's nearly impossible to tell if the people are men or women. The very big strong men are fairly obvious, but that's it. All of these people are so beautiful and fit and just shining examples of the human form, and it was really interesting to be looking at a group of beautiful people, and maybe even be attracted to some of them, but honestly not know if they're male or female.

In general though, the show was really male oriented. I mean, most of the star performers were men. Which compared to the other two Cirque's I've seen, is unusual. (I don't know why the Universe is throwing so much male energy my way lately. I mean we came home from the show, and I checked the mail, and in it was the latest Oprah magazine. Every issue has a theme. What is this month's theme? Men.) Two performers in particular were really moving.

One was the flying man, as my husband calls him. His performance is like nothing I've ever seen and very hard to describe. He basically does things with these two huge pieces of fabric hanging from the ceiling. He holds on to them in mid-air and so forth. But he also does these crazy things where he's running on the ground holding them, then the fabric starts being pulled up and up he goes with it, like he's flying. His whole performance was such a beautiful dance, that just involved very unusual moves. It was truly a wonder to behold.

The other performer that really struck me was a man that just did simple hand balancing stuff. Nothing too unusual in the particular stunts that he did. Basically he's really strong and can hold himself up in odd positions balancing on one hand. But oh this man. It was as if he was channeling Divine energy and presenting himself as perfection of the human form so that we, the audience, could worship this form of Divinity. It was truly moving watching this man move.

Oh and my next favorite performer was actually a fire spinner guy. I have never really been real into fire spinning, in spite of like half the people I know doing it. This man was far and above the best fire spinning I have ever seen. He was spinning the balls of fire faster than I have ever seen anyone do with chains, and he was just using staffs. It was astounding. He had such an extreme level of skill.

Interestingly, one of my favorite moments was actually right after the first curtain call when the lights went off. I always love that moment at concerts too. Everyone is standing together in the dark, clapping and screaming, and I love to just listen and feel the waves of the sound move through me, and it's such a magical moment.

This whole Cirque experience made me really notice something I've been feeling for a while. I feel especially moved by art of any form right now. I feel very much like I want to make a point to go out an be an art appreciator. That makes me think of a selection from Das Energi by Paul Williams I especially like. Here I'll type it in:

This is the truth.
It's all true.
Every word that anyone ever tells you is true.
If you could just open far enough,
make the effort to understand.
It is time to destroy the myth of the artist.
We are all artists.
We need to become better art appreciators.
There's plenty of great creation.
We need great listeners, great readers, great perceivers.
Great receptors.
It's all true; what's hard is not saying truth but
accepting truth.
Embracing truth.
That is greatness.
Open up.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

most recent entries:
Crummy - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Can't Decide - Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
Letting Go - Friday, Jun. 04, 2004
Google 5 - Tuesday, May. 18, 2004
Before Tattoo - Wednesday, May. 12, 2004

older entries

random entry

profile

* sign my guestbook*

For a more complete view of my life, read these:

live journal ~ gratitude journal

DiaryLand