Emerald Myst Wanderings

Cast Away Rituals, Letting Go, & Fathers

Wednesday, Feb. 19, 2003 - 6:02 am

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So much is happening today! Well, happening in my own mind. I watched the final third of Cast Away (from where he leaves the island) which is my favorite part, and had a beautiful metaphorical understanding of it all (or most of it anyway) and cried my eyes out.

Then I did a little ritual involving a Tarot reading and a guided visualization/meditation, searching for what I need to be doing to get out of this. I was told that I underestimate myself and I've already begun what I need to do. I just need to really commit to it. I guess it boils down to two things.

1. Let go of what I'm holding onto. I've already let one oar go, so I might as well let go of the second one too, because it's not doing me much good on its own (Cast Away reference). (Oh my god everyone should watch Cast Away. It is just so incredibly moving and beautiful and meaningful. There is so much metaphor and allegory and dream interpretation and analysis and all that kind of stuff in there. And I didn't even think I'd like it; I just happened to catch it on cable in a hotel room when I couldn't go to sleep. But since then I had to buy it on DVD. Maybe it won't be as meaningful for other people as it is for me, but I still highly recommend it. End of raving.)

2. Be my own father. And take care of myself. I've been doing pretty good at being mother to myself and taking care of myself in that respect, but now it's time to move out of the feminine/receptive some, and into the masculine/active. (Father and mother has nothing to do with my actual parents. It's about archetypes.)

The father image seemed to be the more important one (the Emperor card). (The letting go was the Death card.) Taking care of myself in an active way will really help me thoroughly let go.

After my I was done with my little ritual, I checked my email, and this week's horoscope was already in there:

GEMINI (May 21-June 20): Pollsters asked a thousand kids aged 3-6 which they liked better, daddy or TV. Fifty-three percent asserted that they preferred TV. But even if your own inner child might be inclined to vote with the majority on this question, Gemini, I beg you to go in the other direction in the coming weeks. Why? Because you could really use the inspiration of a father figure: a benevolent older male who can inspire you to activate your latent reserves of ferocious willpower and wild confidence.

I think my mouth was hanging open when I read that. I have never had such a specific horoscope match-up before. So clearly this father idea is an important one for me right now.

I feel like I need to say thank you to the Reader, because this imaginary Reader person has been through so much with me today. It's been very good to have this diary to turn to when I didn't have an actual person. So, uh, thanks!

It's 6:19 am and I haven't slept any yet. Hmm. Tomorrow should be interesting.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

current movie: Cast Away

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

most recent entries:
Crummy - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Can't Decide - Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
Letting Go - Friday, Jun. 04, 2004
Google 5 - Tuesday, May. 18, 2004
Before Tattoo - Wednesday, May. 12, 2004

older entries

random entry

profile

* sign my guestbook*

For a more complete view of my life, read these:

live journal ~ gratitude journal

DiaryLand