Emerald Myst Wanderings

First Time Yoga

Wednesday, Jun. 04, 2003 - 9:41 pm

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today I went to my first yoga class ever. It was great. It's this kind of yoga called Bikram. I found out about it because the place is walking distance from my house!

Bikram Yoga is really cool. It consists of 26 postures, which you do each time in order. It takes an hour and a half. It is recommended that you go at least 2 or 3 times a week. The most unusual thing about it is that it's done in a heated room! So the room is heated to 105 degrees with about 60% humidity. I think I've never been so sweaty in my life!

The instructor was this extremely beautiful man named Kevin. He was really great. He was so friendly and caring and laid back that he made me feel very comfortable right away, even though I arrived totally scared and freaked out. On the walk there I considered heading home several times. I am so glad I pushed myself to do it though! I'm going to go back tomorrow and I hope to start a regular schedule of going Monday, Wednesday, Thursday.

I actually feel proud of myself. This is definitely a stretching lesson for me. And I realized something odd during the class too. Well, it's common for beginners to feel light-headed and overwhelmed by the heat, and Kevin had warned me about this and said to just sit or lie down and breathe if this happened. So one of the times I was sitting there, I suddenly thought, "Wait a minute, don't I tell people all the time that I don't deal well with heat? What am I doing here? How did I get in here without realizing this sooner?" It was like I forgot something about myself so that I would get myself to do the class. Now though I really feel like that's just an added reason that this is such a great stretching lesson.

I am very excited about continuing with this!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

most recent entries:
Crummy - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Can't Decide - Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
Letting Go - Friday, Jun. 04, 2004
Google 5 - Tuesday, May. 18, 2004
Before Tattoo - Wednesday, May. 12, 2004

older entries

random entry

profile

* sign my guestbook*

For a more complete view of my life, read these:

live journal ~ gratitude journal

DiaryLand