Emerald Myst Wanderings

I'm Going Places

Tuesday, Apr. 22, 2003 - 12:38 am

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today was a pretty nice day. After we went to Network we talked about taking a drive instead of going right home, but I was starving so we went to Magnolia Cafe. We hardly ever eat out anymore so it's kind of a treat.

We had a great conversation there about all these different things we might do in the near future. They're all slightly crazy, and interestingly most of them will only happen if my husband doesn't get a permanent job. The thing that brought on the whole conversation was him telling me about an email his mother sent him. She suggested we go live up in Michigan for the summer (where they are) and help fix up one of their rental properties and work on the organic farm his cousin and her husband run. It sounds kind of odd, but, as long as he can keep some distance from his parents (which mostly mean not staying with them), it sounds kind of fun. And we'd love to know about organic farming so that'd be real cool. So we're going to consider that possibility.

All the other ideas involve just one of us going away somewhere, but we've been together so much that we both kind of like the idea of being apart for a little while. Like he's considering trying to get a temp job with another run of Cirque du Soleil in a different city (I think I've mentioned that he's ushering their run in town). We've each thought it sounds cool to go visit LA individually for a couple weeks and just stay with friends and see a bunch of friends and stuff. The travel cost may be an issue in all these cases.

The other thing I'm thinking about, which would be a just me thing is going to Burning Man. I've been 4 times, but we didn't go last year, and hearing about it and stuff I'm really wanting to go I realized. There's a lot of work and pain involved in going (and money) but I'm longing for the playa. As soon as I heard what the theme was I wanted to go. I feel like I could go this year and actually have a fun time finally. Maybe I'm just deluding myself, I dunno. I decided I'd think about it for a couple of days and then if I decide yes, let my husband post something to our community's email list. (He's very excited about the subject line "Take my wife to Burning Man...please!") They have often done a kind of "scholarship" for people who can't afford tickets. Again the travel cost would be a big issue also. I'd love if somehow someone could come get me.

You know I could also just go randomly visit other cities where I have friends too. I mean, I have friends in places besides LA.

It all sounds so exciting. Definitely have to give it some more thought. I really want to be open to doing these kinds of things though, you know? It makes me feel free. I hope we get to do something at least. And hey, even if my husband does get a job, I could still go places.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

recent listening: Benny Goodman

recent reading: Desert Sojourn

recent viewing: Tales of the City

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

most recent entries:
Crummy - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Can't Decide - Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
Letting Go - Friday, Jun. 04, 2004
Google 5 - Tuesday, May. 18, 2004
Before Tattoo - Wednesday, May. 12, 2004

older entries

random entry

profile

* sign my guestbook*

For a more complete view of my life, read these:

live journal ~ gratitude journal

DiaryLand