Emerald Myst Wanderings

Divine Live Music

Thursday, Apr. 24, 2003 - 12:50 am

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wow there's so much. I'll start with the easier stuff first.

This evening I went to see Chris Whitley play live. It was a truly awesome amazing moving spiritual experience. Wow.

It's been far too long since I saw live music. I love the whole experience. I was in a band for a couple years when I was 17-19, and performing was my favorite thing. (I sang, if you're curious.) I love the way your whole body absorbs the music. I love feeling the vibrations of the bass drum in my chest. I love the way the music moves the audience. And tonight I really saw it all as a spiritual experience, like it's some kind of worship ritual. The musicians create this wonderful thing and audience participates with applause and yelling or screaming or whatever. It's just so moving.

I just went by myself because my husband was doing Cirque du Soleil stuff. I walked there and walked home, which was very nice. It's about a 30 minute walk if you're taking your time. It was also cool that I sort of met this other girl that was also there by herself. So I unexpectedly had someone to sit with and talk to. That's so not my usual experience so it felt really great. I want for it to be usual though. I hope it will be in the future.

The opening band was really cool. Johnny Society. Three guys: a drummer, a bassist, and the lead singer who alternated playing guitar and keyboard. It was very interesting that on some songs there was no guitar at all.

And then there was Chris. And this audience was really excited to see him. He is so amazing live. I've seen him once before. His live style is very raw and spontaneous feeling. Songs I know from albums are hard to recognize live because he'll do so many different things with them.

He was playing with a bassist, a drummer and a keyboardist. And he of course is this awesome guitar god and awesome singer. The first half of the show was really good, but it seemed kind of jam session-ish and unpolished. Then suddenly about halfway through it was like everything clicked and they were just ON. They were channeling Divinity. The audience could feel it too and just went crazy. I felt like a musical spell was being cast. The whole rest of the show was like that. It was simply amazing.

And I have to say just one particular song would have been worth the price of admission. It's one of my favorites of his. It's called "Serve You." "Someday/ I will/ serve you/ someday" Oh my god. I can't even describe how moving this song was.

I am out of words to describe this musical experience.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

today's movie: Tales of the City

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

most recent entries:
Crummy - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Can't Decide - Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
Letting Go - Friday, Jun. 04, 2004
Google 5 - Tuesday, May. 18, 2004
Before Tattoo - Wednesday, May. 12, 2004

older entries

random entry

profile

* sign my guestbook*

For a more complete view of my life, read these:

live journal ~ gratitude journal

DiaryLand