Emerald Myst Wanderings

I want to be Rumi

Monday, Sept. 29, 2003 - 10:45 pm

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This morning I wished I were Rumi. I wish I wrote beautiful mystical poetry that opened people's minds. Brought love into the world. I have so many things I have learned. My view of the Universe. My personal mysticism. I want to share it. I want to touch people, like Rumi's touched people, and continues to touch people, long after his death.

Then this afternoon I was thinking about that. I was telling Shannon I feel like I have these great things I'm going to do, though I don't know what they are exactly, but I know what direction to go in to get there. I've just been having trouble getting started in that direction. Part of that direction is my artwork, my collage.

So this afternoon I was thinking about all this. My artwork, going in the right direction, the great things I'm going to do, wanting to be Rumi, mysticism, all that. And an idea came to me. Making collages that are illuminataions of sorts, much like in The Illuminated Rumi. But with my own writings. Or even just simple words and phrases. Like all my buttons at Burning Man: Let go, Surrender, Follow the love, YES, that kind of thing.

I'm so excited about this idea. I think it may be a while before I start doing that exactly, because I really want to work on my hands first. But anyway, it was exciting. It felt like a right idea.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

watching: Star Trek:TNG; CQ

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

most recent entries:
Crummy - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Can't Decide - Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
Letting Go - Friday, Jun. 04, 2004
Google 5 - Tuesday, May. 18, 2004
Before Tattoo - Wednesday, May. 12, 2004

older entries

random entry

profile

* sign my guestbook*

For a more complete view of my life, read these:

live journal ~ gratitude journal

DiaryLand