Emerald Myst Wanderings

Exciting Summer Plans!

Monday, Apr. 28, 2003 - 9:04 pm

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Well now we really want to go to Michigan for the summer. I mentioned this idea here. We are really excited about this. We just have to find out still if there really will be work for us on this farm. If not, I think we'll try to figure out some other way to make an income in Michigan, because we really want to go. We are really excited about getting out of here for a while and doing something different. I'm also really excited about the prospect of doing farmwork and house remodeling/repair work. I've never done anything like that before really, and I think doing some hard, physical work will be a great way to stretch myself, in more ways than one. So we really really hope this works out. We will hopefully find out by Wednesday.

Another reason I'm excited about going to Michigan is because we will have to sit down and re-examine our current goals and task lists and really figure out what must happen before June, and just let go of the rest for now. The prospect of this makes my life sound so much less overwhleming and anxiety ridden. So I realized of course, that this is the secret. In the future I'll have to figure out how to do this all the time so that I'm not always overwhelmed by my life.

And this morning something clicked for me. I've been thinking for a while that I want to write a book, especially a memoir type thing. (I mean, I have to if I want to be a Designated Cool Person.) But I've been feeling like I need some kind of focus for it so that I'm not just talking all over the place. Like, Sue Bender's books each have a very clear theme perfectly encapsulated by the title. So this morning it hit me: the liminal phase. AND, I think that I will take the Michigan time to set up a writing practice for myself.

I feel like I have a great opportunity with these Michigan plans. I'm intending to work hard, keep up with daily tasks like housework and bill paying, visit with my husbands family and friends some, and write, and that's about it. It will be the first time I will have such a simple task list. Other than writing, I won't have any projects I'm trying to work on, and I won't really have any of my own friends there to see. We'll be able to have a lot of leisure time I think because we won't have our personal projects we're working on. I have never lived like that and I'm really looking forward to the opportunity.

So, to sum up our summer plans: Stay here in Austin through May, so we'll go to Flipside and stuff. Sublet our house to someone for June and July. At the end of May put most of our stuff in storage, maybe visit with my family in Houston a couple days, then drive on up to Michigan. Live for free in a duplex owned by my husband's parents for June through the middle of August. While in Michigan, work on the farm and help his parents do work on various homes they own (mostly rental property). Middle of August, head back to Texas in time for me to go to my 10 year high school reunion on August 23. The day after the reunion, I head to Burning Man. Burning Man ends Sept 1, then I go hang out with friends in LA for a couple weeks. Not sure where my husband will be during this time yet, but he'll have some options. After that, I head back to Austin, at which time we hopefully very quickly find a home and a job for my husband.

So what's left to figure out: Can we work on the farm? How will I get to Burning Man? (Probably end up driving I guess, but with who? And how will they get home? Maybe I can convince someone to come get me?) How will I afford I Burning Man ticket? (Hoping to be a recipient of a scholarship type ticket.) How will I get home from LA? (If I drive out I can drive back. If not, my husband may drive out and get me and visit for a couple days too.) Where will my husband be while I am gone? (Don't really have to figure that our until August.) The biggest one is the farm work thing. The Burning Man ticket and transportation are big too, I guess though, just not as soon.

I am so excited! It's nice to be excited for a change!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

recent listening: mix CD's

recent reading: Desert Sojourn by Debi Holmes - Bissey

recent viewing: Some Like It Hot

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

previous - next

most recent entries:
Crummy - Monday, Jul. 12, 2004
Can't Decide - Monday, Jun. 07, 2004
Letting Go - Friday, Jun. 04, 2004
Google 5 - Tuesday, May. 18, 2004
Before Tattoo - Wednesday, May. 12, 2004

older entries

random entry

profile

* sign my guestbook*

For a more complete view of my life, read these:

live journal ~ gratitude journal

DiaryLand